Irish Lacrosse League

The 2011-2012 season marks the third season of the Irish Lacrosse League (ILL).

This year’s league sees five men’s teams and three women’s teams competing for the Irish Field Lacrosse National Championship (Richie Moran and Jimmy Carroll Cups respectively).

Men’s Teams Women’s Teams
Dublin Dublin
Galway Galway
Dublin Bay Prawns
Total: 5 teams Total: 4 teams


Gameday Schedule:

The ILL is divided over 5 gamedays (or tournaments), each hosted by a different member club of the ILL:
October 8th, 2011 – St. Anne’s Park, Clontarf (Dublin Bay Prawns)
November 12th, 2011 – Dangan Sports Grounds (NUI Galway)
February 11th, 2012 – Dublin
March 10th,2012 – Belfast
April 7th, 2012 – Belfield (UCD)

Newtownards Cup:

The 2011 -2012 season will see the second running of a championship style competition during our men’s club lacrosse season, which will be a completely separate competition to the league. This competition will be called the ‘Newtownards’ Cup.

Teams that may not compete on their own in the ILL (e.g. Trinity, Belfast, Cork, a UCD 2nd team) will have the opportunity to compete as their own team in the Newtownards Cup. All clubs will be contacted from late December – mid January to confirm their interest in competing for the Newtownards Cup.

The Cup will operate on a quarter final / semi-final / final basis, depending on the amount of competing teams. There will be an open draw to determine the drawings for each game (held in mid-January).

For a copy of the 2011-2012 ILL Rules and Procedures – click here

For the terms of reference of the Ireland Lacrosse Clubs Committee (including disciplinary procedures) – click here

ILL Club Contacts:

UCD: Cillian Murphy ( & Aisling Casey (

Dublin Bay Prawns: Conor Walsh (

Dublin Lacrosse: Sean Gibson  ( & Rebecca Headon (

Galway Lacrosse: Sonny Campbell, Dara McCreary & Deirdre Swail (

Queens Belfast: Andrew Gordon (

Cork Lacrosse: Simon Vit ( & Mallory Ferguson (

Trinity Lacrosse: Tony Devine: (

Check out for locations of Irish Lacrosse clubs and other clubs, tournaments and lacrosse shops from around Europe.