Ireland’s Men Win Celtic Cup Bronze Medal

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND –  The Ireland’s Men’s  Team defeated France for the second time in three days, and captured the bronze medal at the 2009 Celtic Cup.  Nine different players scored goals enroute to Ireland’s 14-4 win today, and team members will receive their medals at the award ceremony following Sunday’s final game between Wales and host nation Scotland.

Attackmen David Lusby and Sean Gibson both scored three times to lead the Irish charge,
and Zak Jordan put the ball in the net twice.  Six other team members including Tony Devine, Michael Kennedy, Paddy O’Leary, Paul Murran, Sean Murphy and Connor Sweeney also scored goals.  Sweeney played half the game as goalie, and half the game with a short stick, and he and goalie Kevin Quinn were named Co team Most Valuable Players.

Other award winners include National Team Rookie, David Lusby, defensive MVP, John Frame, and offensive MVP, Sean Gibson.

Leave a Comment