ILL Awards Night 2015

By Martin Scanlon, IL Clubs Committee Chairperson

The Gresham Hotel was again the venue for the Ireland Lacrosse Awards Night on Saturday, the 11th of April. A crowd of about 80 people gathered to see the team and individual awards for the 2014-2015 season be presented.


The evening began with the presentation of the team awards for the season. First, Ciaran Boylan, NILL commissioner, called the Darkside, captained by Aidan Kelly, forward to collect the trophy for their indoor victory. Then the Newtownards Cup for the men was presented to the UCD team for their November victory in that competition. Finally, after their victory earlier that afternoon, the Dublin Bay Prawns were crowned Irish Lacrosse League champions for 2015.

UCD menPrawns men

On the women’s side, it was UCD who were winners of the Newtownards Cup in its first season. However, a new name is to be etched for the Irish Women’s Lacrosse League as Galway emerged victorious for the first time.

UCD womenGalway women

Then, it was onto the individual awards. Beginning again with the NILL, the Rookie of the Year was awarded to Darious Lacey. Defensive MVP went to goalie, Aidan Marshall, and Drew Wichmann was voted Offensive MVP for his scoring exploits in Loughlinstown Leisure Centre.

NILL Rookie Darious

NILL Aidan


A men’s ILL All-Star Team was again nominated by the various clubs for the outdoor season. This year’s team was:

G – Tim Segal (Dublin Avengers)
D – Ger Harris (Prawns)
D – Gearoid Dunbar (Prawns)
D – Sean Judge (UCD)
M – Sean O’Shaughnessy (UCD)
M – Jake Morris (Dublin Avengers)
M – Martin Scanlon (Prawns)
A – Cillian Murphy (Prawns)
A – Ciaran Boylan (UCD)
A – Drew Wichmann (Dublin Avengers)

The 2015 Rookie of the Year was awarded to Dylan Landy (Galway). In very close voting the 2015 Defensive MVP went to Avengers Goalie Tim Segal. Drew Wichmann (Dublin Avengers) was also the 2015 Offensive MVP for the outdoor league. Finally, Sean O’Shaughnessy was deservingly awarded overall MVP for his commanding displays for UCD this season.


It was then on to the Irish Women’s Lacrosse League Awards presented by IL Women’s Development Director, Aisling Casey. This year the Rookie of the Year was awarded to Noreen Cassidy (Galway) who was impressive in her first season. The 2015 IWLL Defensive MVP was again awarded to Rebecca Headon (Dublin Avengers) while the 2015 Offensive MVP was presented to Alexandra Kenney (Galway). Kenney was also voted WILL Most Valuable Player by the individual club captains.

ILL O AlexILL D Rebecca

Congrats to all of this year’s award winners!


Leave a Comment