WC 2010 Play-in Games

Scotland’s Second Half Comeback Ends Ireland’s Winning Streak at the FIL
World Championships
July 20, 2010

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND – Trailing 6-5 at halftime, Scotland’s offense exploded for ten second half goals to
defeat Team Ireland, 15-9, at the FIL Men’s World Championships today, and end the Irish winning streak at
four games. It was the fifth game day in a row for both teams.

Kris Prior led Ireland’s scoring with three goals against Scotland, and teammates John Ryan, Brian Gillis and Sean McTernan each had two scores in the contest. Ireland has a day off on Wednesday before playing its next game on Thursday evening. Slovakia, second place team in the tournament’s Orange Division which Ireland won, plays Poland later today, and the winner of that game faces off with Finland on Wednesday. The winner of that game meets Ireland on Thursday, and that game’s winner will earn the chance to play for 9th place among the World Championship’s 30 teams on Friday.

Fast Scoring and Stellar Goaltending Help Ireland Win Fourth Straight Game at
FIL World Championships. Scotland is Next Opponent for Spot in Quarter Finals.
July 19, 2010,

MANCHESTER, ENGLAND – Five first quarter goals from Team Ireland’s Matt Walsh and outstanding goaltending
by Conner Sweeney were keys to Ireland’s 12-7 win vs. Sweden at the FIL Men’s Lacrosse World Championships on Monday evening. Ireland led 6-0 as the second quarter began, and after Sweden narrowed the score to 11-7 at the end of three quarters, Sweeney and the Irish defense shut them out the rest of the way.

Walsh led Irish scoring with six goals, while teammates Brian Gillis with three, Kris Prior with two, and Kevin Owens with one also put points on the scoreboard.

Earlier Monday, Scotland came from behind to defeat the Czech Republic, setting up Tuesday afternoon’s
Ireland – Scotland game for a spot in the Championships quarter finals on Wednesday. The winner on Tuesday will then play the Blue Division’s 4th place team which is still to be determined. The Blue Division includes the tournament’s highest ranked teams including Canada, the USA, England, Japan, Australia, and Germany.

Leave a Comment