2010-2011 Irish Lacrosse League

After a hugely successful opening season of the Irish Lacrosse League, the 2010-11 season sees the further expansion of the league. The ILL will now be held in our different cities (Cork, Belfast, Galway & Dublin) meaning that lacrosse is now being played in all corners of the countries, with all of the provinces being represented.

The men’s league sees the reigning champions, University College Dublin, fighting to retain their title against Dublin Lacrosse, NUI Galway, a Trinity-Queens amalgamation and a new men’s club team, the Dublin Bay Prawns. An added incentive for the winning team of this year’s ILL will be the opportunity to represent Ireland at the ELF-approved European Club Lacrosse Championships (Autumn 2011).

This year will also see the introduction of a men’s knockout tournament that will run throughout the early months of 2011. This will be named the “Newtownards Cup”, named after the town of Newtownards, Co. Down; to our knowledge the first town in Ireland to have a lacrosse club in the late 1870s.

The women’s league will be divided into two tournaments – the Autumn (Oct-Nov 2010) and Spring League (Feb-Apr 2010). UCD and Dublin Lacrosse are the established teams competing this season, but we will also have women’s players from Trinity College, Queens University Belfast, Galway and Cork. With players from several teams gaining huge experience this summer with the Irish Women’s Development team in Edinburgh, London and Amsterdam, there stands to be a huge battle for the women’s title this season.

All in all, it’s shaping up to be a great second season of the Irish Lacrosse League.

The season starts here!!!

Leave a Comment