FIL Establishes Athletes Advisory Commission, Sean Gibson Appointed Chair

FIL Establishes Athletes Advisory Commission and Appoints Sean Gibson Chair

New York, NY – The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL), the international federation for the sport of lacrosse, has appointed Sean Gibson of Ireland as chairman of its newly-established Athletes Advisory Commission (AC) and elected Dana Dobbie of Canada, Keith Nyberg of Australia, Rob Pannell of the United States, Sachio Yamada of Japan, and Seraphine Aelterman of Belgium as its inaugural members.

“The goal of establishing the AC is to create a structure and culture that promotes athlete involvement with a strong voice for organizational input,” said Jim Scherr, the CEO of FIL. “It’s important for an international federation to have a strong athlete voice regarding the many aspects of its organization. The International Olympic Committee has shown great leadership in providing athletes with a meaningful forum for input, and this is something we fully embrace.  We look forward to working with Sean and the newly- appointed members to help shape the future of the sport.”

Gibson added: “I am honored to represent the AC as Chair and can reiterate that we are very much looking forward to 2019 and doing our part to help shape our great sport in the years to come. We have a great group of committed individuals.”

The AC has agreed to three-year terms for its initial positions, which will begin 2019 through 2021. In fourth-quarter 2021, a new chairman will be determined by internal voting by the AC and will come from the women’s sector. That appointment and subsequent appointments will then fall under two-year terms beginning in 2022.

(Source: FIL)


Assistant Coach, Women's National Team

Leave a Comment